JUST IN: US issues fresh travel ban on Rivers, Edo, Katsina, 17 other Nigerian states

US consulate tasks ‎Nigerian youths on entrepreneurial spirit

The US says Nigerian military has limited power to deal with offensives from the sea The United States of America has banned its citizens from visiting 20 Nigerian states because of insecurity.

The states which are now no-go areas to American citizens are Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara.

It recommended only essential travel to the states.

According to the latest new travel warning to replace an earlier one dated February 5, 2016, the Department of State said it is placing alerts on these places because of “risk of kidnappings, robberies, and other armed attacks”.

The statement read: “Security measures in Nigeria remain heightened due to threats posed by extremist groups, and U.S. citizens may encounter police and military checkpoints, additional security, and possible road blocks throughout the country.


[mailerlite_form form_id=1]


“Hundreds of thousands of Nigerians have been displaced as a result of violence in the north.”

NNN.COM.NG is a portal where you can read latest Nigeria News from all Nigeria Newspapers such as such as Punch, Vangaurd, Daily Times, Thisday, Guardian, Nation, Leadership and more in one place. NNN aggregates Naija News and sort them according to their sources, category and relevance as a way of reducing the effort a news reader needs to put in to reading breaking news in Nigeria and across the world.