Connect with us


Ogun Assembly minority leader, 6 others defect to APC



Seven members of the Ogun House of Assembly, on Thursday, dumped the Allied People’s Movement (APM) and defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers announced their defection in separate letters read by the Speaker, Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC – Ifo1) during a plenary in Abeokuta.

The defectors are the Minority Leader, Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo 11); Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota 11); Yusuf Amosun (Ewekoro); Sikiratu Ajibola (Ipokia); Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South); Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu 11) and Modupe Mujota-Onikepo (Abeokuta North).

The lawmakers said in their letters that they decided to join the APC after due consultations with their leaders and supporters.

In his response, the speaker congratulated them for joining the ruling party.

He remarked that it was important to come together for the betterment of the state.

Oluomo appealed to other minority members in the House to also take the bold step and join the ruling party.

It was reported that out of the 26 members of the House, APC now has 22, PDP, one and ADC, three.

Abiodun Lawal

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective.A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour.The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.