Connect with us


Ogun assembly re-elects Yusuf as majority leader



The Ogun House of Assembly on Thursday re-elected Mr Sheriff Yusuf (APC- Ado Odo Ota 1) as the Majority Leader of the 10th assembly.

Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC-Ifo 1), the Speaker, announced the names of the assembly principal officers during plenary in Abeokuta.

Oluomo noted that both the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members in the House had agreed on consensus principal officers.

The speaker also announced Adeniran Ademola (APC – Sagamu 11) as the Deputy Majority Leader; Mrs Omolola Bakare (APC -Ijebu Ode) as the Chief Whip, while Babatunde Tella (APC-Abeokuta North) would be the Deputy Chief Whip.

Oluomo announced Olalekan Adeleye (PDP -Odogbolu) as the House Minority Leader; Lukmon Atobatele (PDP – Abeokuta South 1) as the Deputy Minority Leader.

He also announced Rasheed Kashamu as the Minority Whip and Kolawole Awolaja as the Deputy Minority Whip.

Our correspondent reports that the House had on Tuesday during inauguration of the 10th assembly re-elected Oluomo as Speaker, while Mrs Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South) was elected the Deputy Speaker.

Abiodun Lawal

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour. The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750