Connect with us


Northern youths urge Senate to confirm Okotete, El-Rufai’s nomination as ministers



A Civil Society Organisation (CSO), Northern Youth Initiative for Peace and Good Governance, on Monday, called on the Senate to confirm the nomination of Mrs Stella Okotete and Mallam Nasir El-Rufai as ministers.

Our correspondent reports that while Okotete was the former executive director, Business Development, Nigeria- Export and Import Bank (NEXIM), El-Rufai was the immediate-past governor of Kaduna State.

Members of the group, while on a peaceful protest at the entrance gate of the National Assembly, said President Bola Tinubu had done the right nomination.

President of the group, Alhaji Umar Faruk-Lawal, described Okotete as “a game changer who has all it takes to perform beyond expectations based on her wealth of experience.”

“Today, we are here in support of Stella Okotete because she has done excellently well.

“That is why President Bola Tinubu nominated her for the ministerial position.

“Some people are against her nomination because they don’t want the progress of Nigerian youths and Nigeria at large.

“We believe our president would give her a good ministry to head to carry the youths of this country along.

“We believe in her leadership capacity. That is why we are here,” he said.

Speaking further, Faruk-Lawal also commended the ministerial nomination of former Gov. El-Rufai.

“El-Rufia is a good nomination; very good one because today, we enjoy peace in Abuja being a centre of unity.

“Abuja today, being cleaned is because of what El-Rufai did as minister of the FCT.

“If you visit Kaduna, what he did as governor is visible.

“President Tinubu will not nominate people that cannot work for Nigeria.

“The president nominated people that can deliver for Nigeria.

“And we believe he is going to do more, by God’s grace; he will not disappoint Nigeria with his ministerial list,” he said.

Our correspondent reports that the Senate began the screening of ministerial nominees. The screening started at about 1:30pm at the plenary on Monday.

The first nominee to be screened was Abubakar Momoh (Edo State).

Former Rivers governor Nyesom Wike is currently being screened.

President Bola Tinubu sent a letter containing the list of the ministerial nominees was personally delivered by the Chief of Staff to the President and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Prominent politicians who made the list are Wike, el-Rufai, and former Ebonyi Governor, David Umahi.

Others are Abubakar Momoh, Amb Yusuf Maitama, Ahmad Dangiwa, Hanatu Musawa, Chief Uche Nnaji, Beta Edu, Doris Aniche and Mohamed Badaru.

Others are Ekperikpe Ekpo, Nkiru onyejiocha, Olubumi Ojo, Stella okotekpe, Uju Kennedy, Bello Mohammed Goroyo, Dele Alake, Lateef Fagbemi, Mohammed Idris and Olawale Edun.

The rest are Adebayo Adelabu, Imma Suleiman, Ali Pate, Joseph Utsev, Abubakar kyari, John Eno and Sani Danladi.

Taiye Agbaje

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour. The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750