Connect with us


Oborevwori assigns portfolios to commissioners, none for information, justice



Gov. Sheriff Oborevwori of Delta has assigned portfolios to newly sworn-in Commissioners with none for the ministries of information and justice in the state.

The governor’s approval for assignment  of portfolios is contained in a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Dr Kingsley Emu, on Tuesday few hours after the commissioners were sworn  in Asaba.
According to the statement, Mr Daniel Odinigwe  is the commissioner for  Science and Technology, Mrs  Joan Onyemaechi to serve in Technical Education and  Jerry Ehiwario as commissioner for Power and Energy.
“Mr  Charles Ehiedu Aniagwu, former Commissioner for Information is now Commissioner for Works (Rural Roads) while Dr Kingsley Ashibuogwu is the commissioner for Primary Education.
“Mr Michael Anoka is the Commissioner for Urban Renewal, with  Princess Pat. Ajudua as commissioner for Women Affairs, Community and Social Development.
It says Chief Darlington Ijeh is the Commissioner  for Culture and Tourism,  Chief Fidelis Okenmor Tilije is returned as commissioner for Finance, the office he held in the immediate past administration of Gov Ifeanyi Okowa.
Also, Funyei Manager appointed as the commissioner for Special Projects while Mr Godknows Angele has been assigned to Housing Ministry.
Other commissioners are,  Dr Joseph Onojaeme for Health, Chief Emamusi Obiodeh for Lands and Survey, and  Mr Perez  Omoun for Agriculture and Natural Resources.
 Miss Orode Uduaghan was assigned as the Girl Child Entrepreneurship and Humanitarian Support Services,  Dr Isaac Wilkie as Commissioner for Water Resources while Mr Agbateyimiro Weyinmi as Commissioner for Youths.
Mr Samuel Oligida as commissioner for Trade and Investments, Prof. Tonukari Johnbull to serve as commissioner for  Higher Education with Mr  Etagherure Terry as Commissioner for Bureau for Special Duties.
The statement further said that  Mrs Rose Ezewu  was returned as commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, while  Jamani Ejiro has been assigned to Environment.
Others Mr Onoriode Agofure as commissioner for Transport, Mr Izeze Reuben for Works (Highways & Urban Roads),  Chief Vincent Oyibode appointed Commissioner for Oil & Gas.
Mr Sonny Ekedayen will serve  as Commissioner for Economic Planning.


Ifeanyi Olannye

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour. The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750