Connect with us


6 countries join BRICS as summit ends in South Africa



BRICS leaders announced on Thursday that six countries have agreed to join the organisation to expand areas of partnership.

The six countries’ membership would take effect on Jan. 1, 2024, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced at a press conference during the 15th BRICS Summit.
“We value the interests of other countries in building the partnership of BRICS,” said Ramaphosa.
The countries are Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.
BRICS leaders met here from Aug. 22 to 24 in Johannesburg, South Africa to discuss issues of common interest including deepening BRICS cooperation and the group’s expansion.
The BRICS member states are: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.
Ummul Idris

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour. The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750