Connect with us


Rerun: Kano Assembly Speaker swears in 2 new members



Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly, Ismail Falgore, on Monday, administered the oath of office on two new members.

NEWSVERGE reports that the new members: Mohammed Butu-Butu (NNPP-Rimin-Gado/Tofa) and Zakaria Ishak (NNPP-Kura/Garunmalam), won the Feb. 3 rerun elections in their respective constituencies.

The speaker, while performing the swearing-in during plenary, urged the new legislators to work for the development of their constituencies and the state in general.

“On behalf of the entire members of the Ninth Assembly, I welcome the newly-elected lawmakers to the chamber.

“We wish you more success in the discharge of your legislative assignment,” Falgore said.

Our correspondent reports that Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had earlier issued a certificate of return to the two members of New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) who defeated their opponents from All Progressives Congress (APC).

The speaker also swore-in Mohammed Butu-Butu (NNPP-Rimin-Gado) as deputy speaker, the position he had held before the annulment of his election.

Muhammad Nur Tijani

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. A unique organization, founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favour. The Verge Communications is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750