Connect with us


PDP, APC in show of strength as Dogara constitutes 97 House committees



PDP, APC in show of strength as Dogara constitutes 97 House committees

…Speaker’s men get juicy committees



The All Progressives Congress (APC) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) caucuses in the House of Representatives tested their strength on Thursday when Speaker Yakubu Dogara announced the constitution of 97 standing committees of the House with the majority APC producing 48 chairmen of committees and the minority PDP having 45 committee chairmen.

PDP, APC in show of strength as Dogara constitutes 97 House committees

Speaker Yakubu Dogara (middle), attending to multiple calls at the same time

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) both have one committee chairmanship position respectively, while the APC has 55 deputy chairmen positions, PDP has 39 deputy chairmen with APGA having two deputy chairmanship positions.

Our correspondent reports that the intense lobbying and horse trading which had been going on for weeks amongst lawmakers within the APC and PDP caucuses in the House had delayed the formal announcement and constitution of the standing committees by the speaker.

Announcing the constitution of the committees yesterday, Speaker Dogara named Rep. Abdulmumin Jibrin (APC-Kano) as chairman of the powerful committee on appropriations; Rep. Orker Jev Emmanuel (APC-Benue), chairman, committee on rules and business.

Similarly, Rep. Samson Okwu was named as the chairman, House committee on air force; Rep. Roma Shawalu, army; Rep. Onyejeocha Nkeruika Chiduben, aviation; Rep. Chukwudi Victor Jones, banking and currency; Rep. Yusuf Tajudeen, capital market and institutions; Rep. James Falake, customs and excise; Rep. Mukhtar Aliyu, Defence; Rep. Aishatu Dukku, electoral matters and political party matters, and Rep. Ossai Ossai, as chairman, ethics and privileges committee.

Other committee chairmen include Rep. Herman Hembe, Federal Capital Territory (FCT); Rep. Aminu Shagari, federal judiciary; Rep. Babangida Ibrahim, finance; Rep. Elendu-Ukeji Nnenna, foreign affairs; Rep. Aged I Frederick, gas resources; Rep. Mustapha Dawaki, housing; Rep. Nasiru Babale Ila, house services; Rep. Chime John Okafor, healthcare services and Rep. Sani Zorro, IDPs, refugees and initiative on North East.

Also named as committee chairmen by the speaker are Rep. Abubakar Moriki, industry; Rep. Jagaba Adams Jagaba, interior; Rep. Razak Atunwa, justice, Rep. Amin Isa, land transport; Rep. Mohammed Bago, maritime safety, education and administration; Rep. Abdulrazak Namdas, media and public affairs; Rep. Jephter Foingha, national planning and economic development; Rep. Abdulssamad Dasuki, navy; Rep. Nicholas Ebomo, Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC); Rep. Hassan Shekarau, pensions and Rep. Akinlaja Irnola, petroleum resources (downstream).

Rep. Victor Nwokolo, petroleum resources (upstream); Rep. Haliru Jika, police affairs; Patrick Asada, ports, harbors and waterways; Daniel Effiong, power; Ahmed Yerima, privatization and commercialization; Kingsley Chinda, public accounts; Busayo Oke, public procurement; Abonta Nkem, public petitions; Nasiru Zango Daura, special duties; Goni Lawan, sports; Idrisu Lawan, steel; Saheed Fuabi, telecommunications; Aminu Suleiman, tertiary education and services; Aliyu Ahman Pategi, water resources and Tobi Okechukwu, works, make up those appointed to juicy committees.

However, the choice of who chairs the committee on Niger delta affairs appears contentious as the position remains vacant, but Rep. Nassiru Ali Ahmed from Kano state was named as deputy chairman of the committee.

NEWSVERGE, published by The Verge Communications is an online community of international news portal and social advocates dedicated to bringing you commentaries, features, news reports from a Nigerian-African perspective. The Verge Communications (NEWSVERGE) is fully registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a corporate organization.



Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750
Shell Digital Plan RESPONSIVE600x750